Salted Caramel Cupcakes

As you may know, every now and then I like to try out some of the cake mixes available on the high street. Even though I always say that baking your own is better, some of the packet mixes out there can be just as good and great if you’re new to baking or simply haven’t got the time to bake entirely from scratch. This week whilst shopping in Sainsbury’s, I spotted these Salted Caramel Cupcakes. Having seen that they were new to their baking range, I decided to test them out!

DSCF3517

Salted caramel sounds incredibly bizarre to me.  The idea of having salt in or on a cake completely puts me off – salt and sweet should definitely not mix! Nevertheless, seeing as I often see recipes for these online I thought I’d give them a go. Obviously I knew that when I baked them they wouldn’t completely taste of salt but that’s just all I could imagine!

The cake itself was delicious, just enough mixture in the box to fill all 6 cupcakes mind. Nevertheless, they were deliciously toffee flavoured, light, fluffy and incredibly easy to make,with you simply needing to add water and one egg. For the frosting I had plenty of buttercream for all 6 cupcakes. I sometimes worry with packet mixes that when I pipe the icing, I’ll run out. I always start my piping sparingly yet by the last cupcake, I have way too much frosting left and as a result, the last cupcake always has way to much. Luckily, this was not the case with these, I had a good amount to evenly divide the buttercream between the cupcakes, giving each a generous swirl.

Included in this mixture was also a caramel syrup and fudge pieces for decoration. Completely ignoring the instructions I used cold water to make the syrup instead of hot as advised. I’m not sure what difference it would have made to have use hot water, but since the frosting is butter, I was worried that the heat would spoil the decoration. Unfortunately, my syrup didn’t drizzle as spectacularly as the picture on the box, just a few blobs here and there. I do however think that it was in fact the syrup which had the slightly salted flavour. When you lick your lips after, there is a slight salty taste but it completely works with the cake. I think the fudge pieces add a nice fun feel to these cupcakes and make them look homemade. There is more than enough fudge to decorate your cupcakes with and maybe even a few spare for you to cheekily eat along the way.

Overall, costing just £2.00 in Sainsburys, if you’re looking for something to do this weekend, they’re well worth buying, just to pass an hour or so on a rainy day – which if you’re in the UK right now, it most probably will be!

DSCF3513

DSCF3514

Enjoy!

– Charlotte x

| Previous Recipe American Cookies |

| Facebook Bake With Me Blog |

9 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

