White Chocolate & Lemon Cupcakes

I originally found this recipe over at the Good to Know website (this is a site I regularly use for recipes, you should definitely check it out!) and thought that the combination of white chocolate and lemon sounded quite interesting and most certainly yummy. I’ve been wanting to try working with white chocolate for a while now seeing as I generally prefer to bake using milk or dark chocolate. I was  pleased with the results of these cupcakes, not only was the sponge light and fluffy but the lemon came through well and complimented the sweet, but not too sweet, white chocolate frosting. If you’re in need of a new recipe this weekend, I’d recommend you give this one a go!

WHITE CHOCOLATE & LEMON CUPCAKES 

DSCF2773

INGREDIENTS
Cupcakes
120g Butter, Softened
150g Caster Sugar
200g Self-Raising Flour, Sifted
1tsp Baking Powder
125ml Milk
2 Eggs
1 Grated Lemon Zest

Frosting
50g White Chocolate, Melted
120g Butter, Softened
200g Icing Sugar, Sifted

METHOD 

1. Preheat the oven to gas mark 4, ensuring the shelving is centred. Line a cake tin with 12 cases.

2. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and creamy.

3. Gradually sift in the self-raising flour and baking powder.

4. Add the milk, eggs and grated lemon zest and give a mix until combined together and a smooth cake batter has formed.

5. Divide the mixture equally between the cake cases and bake in the oven for 18 to 20 minutes or until golden brown.

6. Leave the cakes to cool before adding the frosting. Melt the white chocolate either in the microwave or gently over a pan of hot water. Leave the white chocolate to cool slightly.

7. Cream together the softened butter and icing sugar. Add the white chocolate and gently mix together.

8. Either spoon or pipe a little frosting onto each of the cupcakes.

9. Decorate each cake with some grated white chocolate (if there is any left over as you may be like me and eat as you bake!) If you do decide to grate chocolate on top, keep the white chocolate in the fridge beforehand so it doesn’t melt with warm hands.

10. Share with your friends (only if you want to!) and EAT!

DSCF2775

Enjoy!

– Charlotte x

| Original Recipe Good To Know – Lemon & White Chocolate Cupcakes |

| Previous Recipe Chocolate Orange Marble Cake |

9 thoughts on “White Chocolate & Lemon Cupcakes

  1. Hannah says:

    just stumbled onto your blog, it’s amazing 🙂 I’ve just recently started at uni too, and would love to start baking again – I love to do it at home but I didn’t bring any equipment or anything with me. What sort of equipment have you got with you? and have you got any tips for being a university baker?
    Hannah

    • bakewithmeblog says:

      Hi there! I’ve just checked out your blog too, its amazing – i love it! At uni at the moment I just have the basics with me such as bowls, trays, weighing scales, spoons etc.. nothing too fancy, just all the essentials. At my uni we have a baking society where it’s £10 for the year and this covers equipment and ingredients, we meet once a week and all bake together which is fun. Maybe you could see if your university offers something similar or if your brave enough, start your own society?! The only tip I can really think of is to just be confident, if you’re living in shared halls and you feel like baking – just go for it! Your flatmates will be interested in what you’re doing and thats a good thing, you can share your passion with them. Let me know how you get on! Can I ask you what you’re studying? x

      • Hannah says:

        Thanks 🙂 sadly my uni doesn’t have one, so yeah, i’m considering starting up a baking society for next year. I will let you know, I really want to try out your cake-in-a-mug recipe, looks awesome! 😀
        I’m studying Biology 🙂
        Hannah

      • bakewithmeblog says:

        Yeah definitely try setting up your own society – that’d be soooo cool! I think the cake in a mug is the perfect recipe for a university student! Good luck with all your studies and I’m looking forward to seeing the things you post on your blog, it’s nice to read about your university experiences too! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

