Tesco Lemon Cupcake Review

You may know that every now and then I like to test out some of the cake mixes that you can buy in the supermarket, as sometimes, we just don’t always have the time to bake a cake completely from scratch. So, this week, I decided to try out this Lemon Cupcake mix from the Tesco baking range. I admit, the main reason for choosing this particular mix was because it was on offer for a £1, but seeing as lemon is one of my absolute favourites, I was interested to see whether the lemon from a packet mix was powerful and as tasty as what it could be when fresh.

DSCF2650

There are a few ingredients you need to provide for this cake mix including an egg, milk and some butter but these should be items you’d have already. I thought that the sponge was very light, it’s was springy to touch and a really soft and delicate cake. I was a little worried about how the texture of the cake would turn out seeing as the cake mix when whisking seemed a little lumpy but this seemed to sort itself out in the oven.  Although the lemon smell wasn’t particularly strong when making the cake batter, the cakes did have a nice lemon flavour and they were a good size, true to the picture on the box.

DSCF2657

The icing was pretty nice too, it had a really good lemon flavour which I was pleased with. The only thing I thought was that the icing was a little tight, it was just enough to cover all 6 cupcakes, especially if you decide to pipe the icing on like I did. Nevertheless, for me the icing was the best part of the cake.

DSCF2658

So if you’re looking for a quick cake mix, I’d definitely recommend you give this packet mix a go. If you can get it for a £1 like I did, that’s even better, what a bargain! But overall, these cupcakes were really light, a great size and had a delicious lemon flavour.

Enjoy!

– Charlotte x

| Previous Recipe Golden Syrup Cupcakes| Previous My Life August Favourites |

Leave a Reply

