Golden Syrup Chocolate Chip Cookies

Whilst tidying out the cupboard over the recent bank holiday weekend, I found a jar of golden syrup just gathering dust at the very back. Not only was I surprised to find the jar unopened, but I also found that attached to it was a small paper recipe for these cookies. Since I had no other plans for the syrup, I decided to give them a go and they were actually really nice!

 GOLDEN SYRUP CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES 

DSCF2580

INGREDIENTS
115g Unsalted Butter, Softened
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
50g Caster Sugar
3 tbsp Golden Syrup, levelled spoonfuls
1 Egg
175g Self-Raising Flour, Sifted
75g Chocolate Chips
75g Chopped Almonds (I used the flaked almonds left over from my Cherry Bakewell Sponge, just chop them up a little!)

METHOD 

1. Preheat the oven to gas mark 5, ensuring the shelving is centre. Grease and line two baking trays with greaseproof paper.

2. In a bowl, cream together the softened butter, vanilla extract and caster sugar.

3. Add in the golden syrup and the egg and mix.

4. Gradually sift in the self-raising flour.

5. Finally add in the chocolate chips and almonds and give a final stir to ensure all the ingredients have combined together.

DSCF2574

6. Place small spoonfuls of the mixture onto your baking trays. I managed to make 15 cookies. However, I made mine quite big so you’d be able to get a LOT more if you make them small!

7. Bake in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes until golden brown. (Don’t be tempted to cook them longer even if they are soft as biscuits harden when they cool down.)

8. Leave to cool before transferring to a wire rack.

DSCF2582

DSCF2583

DSCF2589

DSCF2588

Enjoy!

– Charlotte x

| Original Recipe Golden Syrup Cookies |

| Previous Recipe Cherry Bakewell Sponge |

6 thoughts on “Golden Syrup Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. mylittledreamworld1 says:

    These look lovely – I make a very similar recipe actually, but use brown sugar instead of caster sugar. I like the flavour of them 🙂 I make cookies about once a week, and they always go really fast! Going to try your recipe next I think 🙂 xx

    • bakewithmeblog says:

      Ooooh yum, I bet your recipe is really tasty too. Cookies in my house never last very long either! Let me know if you do try this recipe, I’d like to see how to get on! Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for the follow too! 🙂 x

    • bakewithmeblog says:

      I love Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe! I read it because it had cupcake in the title and loved it! I think Nutella would go well in these cookies too, I may have to try that! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

