Mint Chocolate Cupcakes

So I found a recipe by Nigella Lawson for these cute Mint Chocolate Cupcakes. I have to admit I’m not a huge fan of mint as I tend to associate it with toothpaste and so wasn’t particularly keen on the idea of a chocolate cake with toothpaste squirted on top. Nevertheless, as a request from my family, I decided to give them a go. Aside from the disastrous icing (I’ve learnt that I am useless with a piping bag!) I was pleasantly surprised by how they turned out!

MINT CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES

Mint Chocolate Cupcake 2

INGREDIENTS

Cupcakes:-
– 225 grams/8 oz self-raising flour
– 4 tablespoons of cocoa powder
– 1  teaspoon  baking powder
– 225 grams/8 oz caster sugar
– 225 grams/8 oz  unsalted butter
– 4 eggs
–  1 teaspoon of peppermint essence
– 100 grams/4 oz plain chocolate chips (optional)

Icing:-

– 115 grams/4 oz  unsalted butter
– 225 grams/8 oz  icing sugar (sifted)
– 1 teaspoon of peppermint essence
– drop of green food colouring
– plain chocolate for grating on top (optional)

METHOD

1. Preheat your oven to gas mark no. 4

2. Place 18 paper cake cases into a cake/muffin tin.

3. In a bowl, sieve the flour, baking powder and cocoa. (I’d recommend using a good quality cocoa powder if you can get your hands on some, I used Green & Black’s cocoa powder.)

4. Cream together the butter and sugar in another bowl, adding the eggs one at a time. Beat together.

5. Gradually add in your flour mixture.

6. Add in the mint essence.

7. Add in the chocolate chips if using and give a final stir.

8. Spoon the mixture into your cake cases and bake for about 25 minutes in the centre of the oven. If the sponge springs back up orMint Chocolate Cupcake 3 no mixture appears on the fork you poke them with after 25 minutes – then they’re ready!

9. Leave to cool.

10. For the icing, beat the icing sugar and butter in a bowl, adding in the mint essence and just enough food colour to turn the icing mint green.

11. Pipe the icing onto each cupcake and decorate with grated chocolate if using. (Tip! Keep your chocolate in the fridge before grating. I soon learnt that it is very difficult to grate a warm chocolate bar with warm hands!)

12. Eat!

Hope you enjoy these minty treats!

PS. They don’t taste like toothpaste! 😉

9 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Tea with Erika says:

    I’m not a big fan of mint either (I compare it with toothpaste and mouthwash too!) but if you say it tastes good then I’ll have to give it a try. About piping, I only use piping bags for royal icing. For cupcakes, I use an icing syringe – much easier, have you tried that? I hate washing bags and I find them too messy whereas the syringe I can simply toss its parts into the dishwasher.

    • bakewithmeblog says:

      I haven’t tried an icing syringe, but I think that’ll definitely be something I’d be willing to try. I still haven’t made a cupcake with perfect icing yet so maybe an icing syringe is the way forward!

      I hate washing piping bags too, I feel like I waste so much icing as it gets stuck to the sides of the bag!

      Thanks for your advice! I’ll let you know how I get on. 🙂

  2. Vibrant Bean says:

    I actually love mint and chocolate. Reminds me of one of my favorite ice creams 🙂
    I’ll have to try these sometime

Leave a Reply

